Mon- Sat 9:00am - 6:30pm

Which is the best certification for a 12+ year QA professional?

A good quality assurance (QA) certification can help you stand out from the competition and boost your career. Certification is a good way to prove that you have the knowledge and skills to do your job well.

Is a Certification Worth It?

Which is the best certification for a 12+ year QA professional?

We all know that “certification is not a guarantee of employment.” While it’s true that certification is not a guarantee of employment, there are several reasons why you should consider obtaining one.

Certifications allow you to demonstrate your knowledge, skills, and expertise in quality assurance or related fields. It also shows commitment on your part to remain current with industry trends and technologies. For example, if I were looking for someone who was qualified for an automation testing position at my company, I would look much harder at someone who had passed an automation testing certification exam than someone who just listed it as a skill on their resume without any proof that they know how to do it well (and vice versa).

Top QA Testing Certifications

Which is the best certification for a 12+ year QA professional?

Following are some most common certifications for QA professionals. Each certification has its requirements, and you should ensure that you meet those before signing up.

  • CAST – Certified Associate In Software Testing
  • CTM — Certified Test Manager
  • CSSBB — Six Sigma Black Belt Certification
  • ISTQB – Expert Level

CAST – Certified Associate In Software Testing

The CAST certification is an entry-level software testing certification offered by the International Software Testing Qualification Board (ISTQB). It’s a good way to get started in software testing, and it can add credibility to your resume if you have more than 12 years of experience as a tester. You will need to pass three exams (which are offered regularly) to achieve the certification. The first exam is an entry-level exam covering basic software testing concepts, such as test design and implementation. The second and third exams are more advanced and cover topics related to specific domains like mobile testing or usability testing.

CTM — Certified Test Manager

The Certified Test Manager (CTM) certification is a good choice for QA professionals who want to get into test management. The CTM exam is difficult, with a pass rate of only 29%. While many jobs do not require CTM certification, it can help you stand out from the crowd in your job search and give you extra credibility in your field.

The exam consists of 75 multiple-choice questions that cover three domains: test strategy, infrastructure, and process improvement. Candidates must have at least five years of experience as a software tester before taking this exam — there’s no way around it!

CSSBB — Six Sigma Black Belt Certification

There are several options for those looking for a Six Sigma Black Belt certification. The CSSBB exam is the industry standard for QA testers who want to demonstrate their expertise in QA testing. It’s one of the highest-level certifications available within the industry, and it’s only for some. To be eligible for this rigorous certification program, you need at least 12 years of experience as an IT professional and have passed all three levels of Scrum Master Certification.

If your company requires this level of certification or if you want to demonstrate your expertise as a QA tester—and who doesn’t?—then I strongly recommend that you take advantage of this opportunity! Please remember that passing this challenging exam will require dedication: You’ll need to study before taking it (depending on how well-versed you already are with the Six Sigma methodology).

ISTQB – Expert Level

The ISTQB Expert Level is the highest level of certification offered by ISTQB. The ISTQB Expert Level is a globally recognized standard in software testing. This certification requires an in-depth knowledge of software testing and formalized principles and practices to ensure quality through the project’s entire lifecycle. The ISTQB Expert Level is focused on testing and includes quality assurance (QA) principles and business and project management aspects.

The ISTQB Expert Level is suitable for QA professionals who are working towards becoming senior-level testers with extensive experience managing and leading teams of testers at their organizations.


There are many different types of certification for QA professionals. It is important to select the one that best fits your skill set and career goals. Once you have decided on the right certification, you can begin preparing. The best way to prepare is by taking a course or a QA training program. Further, feel free to contact us for any training program; we are always ready to assist.

2022-11-30T16:34:58+00:00November 30th, 2022|

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top