.NET is a collection of technologies from Microsoft that make it easier to build web, mobile, and cloud applications. You can use .NET on your computer or in the cloud and Visual Studio to develop .NET applications. This makes .NET a great choice for many software development careers. This article will overview what it means to be a .NET developer and discuss 8 certifications to help you achieve your goals with this powerful platform!

8 .NET Certifications for Your Software Development Career

What is a .NET developer?

A .NET developer builds apps and tools for the Microsoft .NET Framework, a programming environment used to build web applications. The framework includes the C# language and Visual Studio, a comprehensive suite of tools that can be used to create both desktop applications and websites.

It’s important to note that while many people refer to themselves as “web developers,” they’re working with LAMP stacks—a Linux/Apache/MySQL/PHP combination—and not the Microsoft stack. A true .NET developer uses ASP or ASP.NET, which stands for Active Server Pages or Active Server Pages Scripting Language (respectively).

8 .NET developer certifications

If you want to become a .NET developer, a few certifications can help you advance your career.

1. CompTIA A+ certification

One of the best methods to start your IT career is earning a CompTIA A+ certification. Here’s why:

  • With this certification, you don’t need to know any specific programming language or platform. Instead, it focuses on basic knowledge in all areas of computer technology, including security and troubleshooting. It’s vendor-neutral.
  • This certification is for beginners who want to get their feet wet in computer repair and maintenance without having to spend months studying hard concepts like networking, databases, or operating systems. It’s easy to learn and understand. If a non-programmer wanted only one single skill set that would give them enough knowledge about computers so they could do something useful with them (like help family members or friends), then this would be it!

2. CompTIA Network+ certification

CompTIA Network+ certification is an internationally recognized credential that validates the knowledge, skills, and abilities required by network administrators to ensure optimal performance from today’s converged networks. The CompTIA Network+ certification validates that a candidate has the necessary skill set for basic networking infrastructure and security to meet the needs of businesses that employ computer networks.

To prepare for this exam, you can take some online courses or books on networking such as:

  • A+ Guide to Managing & Troubleshooting Networks (6th Edition) by Steve Conklin
  • TCP/IP Illustrated Volumes 1&2 by W. Richard Stevens
  • Designing Business Class Networks (2nd Edition) by Andrew Doherty

3. IT Information Library Foundation (ITIL) 4 Foundation certification

 It is a framework for IT service management. It collects best practices, procedures, and guidelines that align IT services with business needs.

ITIL focuses on the customer and the business by defining what customers want from their technology in terms of functionality and performance while ensuring they can access that technology when needed.

4. Certified ScrumMaster (CSM)

The Certified ScrumMaster (CSM) is a certification offered by the Scrum Alliance and covers the basic principles of agile software development. The CSM-certified professional will be able to help organize and facilitate effective sprints while achieving business outcomes on time and within budget.

The CSM course is designed to teach you how to apply agile principles in real-world situations so that you can become an effective change agent in your organization. You’ll learn how Scrum works in theory but also discover how it can be applied practically within your own company or team environment.

After completing this, you should be able to:

  • Explain why working software is demonstrated at the end of every Sprint cycle
  • Understand what it means for a team member to “inspect” their work product every day
  • Use a simple vocabulary that allows them to explain—in plain language—what they are doing as part of an Agile process.

5. Certified Software Development Professional (CSDP)

The Certified Software Development Professional (CSDP) is a Microsoft certification for software developers. The CSDP is an entry-level credential and the first step to becoming a Microsoft Certified Solutions Developer (MCSD). It’s also a requirement for getting your hands on the MCSE—Microsoft’s premier developer certification.

The CSDP exam covers topics like:

  • Windows Forms applications
  • Web services and ASP.NET
  • Data access using ADO.NET, LINQ, Entity Framework 4, LINQ to SQL, and LINQ to Entities.

6. Juniper Networks Certified Design Associate (JNCDA)

The Juniper Networks Certified Design Associate (JNCDA) certification targets individuals interested in designing and deploying network infrastructure, including security architectures. The exam tests your knowledge of routing protocols, switching concepts, and IP services.

The JNCDA cert is not required to start as a network engineer or analyst, but it certainly helps you stand out when applying for jobs or promotions. You can prepare for this exam by taking online courses offered by Pluralsight or Udemy, reading books on networking such as Network Warrior by Richard Bejtlich and Practical Packet Analysis by Christopher Kivi (both published by No Starch Press)

7. Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA)

The Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) is an excellent choice if you want to become a software developer. CCNA is one of the most recognized certifications in the industry, and it will open up many opportunities for you.

To get your CCNA certification, you should have at least one year of experience as an IT administrator or technician. It also helps if you have taken classes on networking concepts such as IPSec and IP routing. There are no prerequisites for taking the exam itself; however, if your job involves working with various network devices and software packages, then this will prove beneficial when preparing for your exam by gaining more hands-on experience with these technologies firsthand before taking the test itself.

8. Azure Solutions Architect Expert certification

The Azure Solutions Architect Expert certification is a great way to validate your knowledge of Azure. It covers everything from architecture and design to the latest technologies, including containers, serverless computing (such as Azure Functions), Azure Logic Apps, and more. The exam comprises 70 multiple-choice questions, which test your knowledge about all things cloud-based in the Microsoft ecosystem. The exam lasts for 90 minutes and covers topics such as:

  • Cloud architecture patterns, services, and application models
  • Security and compliance requirements for cloud applications
  • Understanding how to plan an infrastructure deployment in the cloud


This article has given you a better knowledge of what it means to be a .NET developer. Many options are available to help you start your career, and one of the abovementioned certifications will be perfect for you! Good luck on your journey toward becoming certified.

  • What is the role of SCCM?

What is the role of SCCM?

July 14th, 2023|0 Comments

System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM) is a powerful tool crucial in managing and maintaining IT infrastructure within organizations. SCCM offers a comprehensive suite of features and capabilities that enable efficient software deployment, device management,